Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,945   Posts: 1,585,833   Online: 984

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    DBP

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

When did I become a professional?

I've been a serious photographer on and off over the years, and have experienced a bit of a renaissance with the new century, but never would characterize myself as a professional. Among other things, I've sold one picture, and that when I was 15. (Admittedly I didn't try to sell again until last fall.) Nonetheless, I was looking for the data sheet for Plus-X today and stumbled over the fact that Kodak characterizes all non-C41 films and anything other than 35mm or APS as "professional." I thought maybe this was part of their continuing retreat from film, but the Fujifilm Global website does the same thing, and I can't find any mention there that they even make black and white film. (I can find it on the USA web site, but that wasn't where I was looking.)

When did photo companies start thinking that anyone who could develop film must do it for a living? Has anyone at these two companies considered that they might sell more film if the casual searcher could find out that they still make it? After all, outside of major cities, most photo stores will only stock what is being marketed, and anything but color print film is becoming scarce. It reminds me of having to give up using my Argoflex in the late-70s because the local camera store said Kodak had stopped making 620 film. In those pre-internet days I believed them. But according to the lists I have seen, the film wasn't officially discontinued until 1995, almost two decades later. Just seems like it is a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images