Discussions: 45,157 | Messages: 608,771 | Members: 29,912 | Online: 390 | Chatroom: 0
User Name:  Password:
 

"That is called grain. It is supposed to be there." -Flotsam


 
APUG search    RSS MOBILE
Customize Sidebar
Gum-Silver Process
Author: Dwane
1098 view(s)
aj 12 + various things
Author: jnanian
631 view(s)
Kodak D-19
Author: Tom Hoskinson
944 view(s)
Go Back   APUG > APUG English Forums > Equipment > Panoramic Cameras and Accessories > SCAM: Fuji GX617 on craigslist

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2008, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 58
Default SCAM: Fuji GX617 on craigslist

I saw one these on the Philadelphia craigslist for $1301, upon checking out ebay I found the same pictures there in a current listing (not mine). The Ad was pulled from the Philly site but I wouldn't be surprised if it was posted elsewhere as well. Just wanted to give everyone a heads up.
Skorzen is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
thebanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,715
Default

I saw the same scam on the Seattle Craigslist late last week.
__________________
Quote:
True terror is to wake up one morning and discover that your high school class is running the country. - Vonnegut
thebanana is online now   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Kerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,113
Default

Here in Northern California today as well. If it's too good to be true...
__________________
Kerik Kouklis
Platinum/Gum/Collodion
www.kerik.com
2008 Workshop Schedule Online
2009 Schedule coming soon...
Kerik is online now   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,514
Default

I just saw this on the Orangecounty.craigslist.org too. I thought the price was way too good for a 6x17 with lenses!
__________________
--
Eric
eric is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 08:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
David Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,752
Default

http://dallas.craigslist.org/pho/563490668.html

And in Dallas. Other than price - what is the tip-off that this is not on the up and up?
__________________
David Brown
In Nomine Papierus, Filmio, et Spiritu Argentine, AMEN
David Brown is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Sponsored Ad. (Subscribers to APUG have the option to remove this ad.)

Old 02-05-2008, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,753
Default

yeah -I'm not sure i see the problem. If you pay the money and the camera seems fine... what's the scam...??? I've frequently seen people selling things on CL in different areas. They tend to ship what they're selling. I'd imagine they get a better response than just locally.
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
thebanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,715
Default

In the Seattle example, the actual owner of the camera linked to his own pictures of his auction on Ebay. The shots were of exactly the same camera, so I guess it could be that someone was too lazy to take their own pictures, but you have to wonder. He seemed to think someone was attempting to rip people off. As always, it's buyer beware.
__________________
Quote:
True terror is to wake up one morning and discover that your high school class is running the country. - Vonnegut
thebanana is online now   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Blog Entries: 1
Default gx617

i saw same in Boston craigslist, also check ebay, same picture
alannguyen is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 58
Default

Yeah that was what tipped me off when I saw it, I didn't know what these go for but I had a feeling that the price was really low. I searched ebay and the same pictures popped up.
Skorzen is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Old 02-05-2008, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,753
Default

yeah - but if it's the same seller...? I'll freely admit doing the same thing previously. Selling something on ebay vs. craigslist and using the same pics...
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote Ignore this user Ignore this thread Ignore this forum
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

 


APUG.ORG Block Ads. (APUG Subscribers have the option of closing this block)
 


  Contact Us - Advertise on APUG - Archive - Top - Site Terms - Forum Rules  
    

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.
  
All Content Copyright © 2002-2008 Photocentric Ltd.   Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO APUG.ORG is a division of Photocentric Ltd.
This site is best viewed with a resolution of 1280x1024 (or higher), we recommend using