Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,567   Posts: 1,573,482   Online: 746

Shooter
    Medium Format

XPAN 30 mm usage?

Good day folks,

i have recently acquired a near mint xpan kit, included with the 45mm lens is the 30mm lens.

In my very humble opinion at steal of a price; $1000.

Being a poor student, i am confronted with considering selling the 30mm lens, knowing that on average it retails much higher then the actual purchase of my kit.

My question is to fellow 30mm xpanner's ; is to what extent did you employ the 30mm?

The type of photogpraphy one does not withstanding, ( clearly it has an impact as to usage), do owners of the 30mm , find it collecting dust, as the 45mm proved to be more than adequate for various photographic situations.

Therefore un-needed, when money could be better spent on film or student debt recovery!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I owned the Xpan II with the 45mm and the 30mm.

Actually I owned three different 30mm lenses because I had a love/hate relationship with it.
    So I would use it, then sell it, then buy another one.

For me, the 45mm was a terrific lens for the camera.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    I use my 30mm over half the time. The rest of my photos are split between the 45 and the 90.

That said, I think that how other people use a piece of equipment is a very poor measure of that object. Since you have the lens, take it out and see if you like it. But it did take me awhile to get used to it. You may find it indispensable as your primary lens (as I did), you might find it much too wide for your taste and thus worthless for your photography or you could decide that you might want to use it occasionally.