Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,573   Posts: 1,545,698   Online: 788

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Polishing lens glass

I have and ancient CC Harrison full plate lens which I've been using for two years. It does a beautiful job when I use strobe but does have a ton of cleaning marks on it so outdoors it's very soft and hazy. I'm wondering if there's a good way of cleaning up these marks and making it more useable for natural light?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by illumiquest View Post
    I have and ancient CC Harrison full plate lens which I've been using for two years. It does a beautiful job when I use strobe but does have a ton of cleaning marks on it so outdoors it's very soft and hazy. I'm wondering if there's a good way of cleaning up these marks and making it more useable for natural light?
    This isn't a DIY job unless you have a lot of skill and at least some experience. You would have to preserve the original radius of curvature while maintaining centration of the surface, to a tolerance of about nothing.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    In my experience cleaning marks tend to be rather deep. Probably too deep to be fixed without professional help. The front element would probably have to be reground or replaced. You can try very carefully filling in each deep scratch with a bit of black paint. This will prevent the flare problem outdoors. The lens will look like hell but work better.
    A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.

~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Also, I forgot to mention that a good lens shade of the compendium type will make a great, perhaps huge, difference.

Shooter
    35mm RF