Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,691   Posts: 1,548,919   Online: 795

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

A modern wet plate camera?

Sorry, I just realized this post belongs in this forum, not the other one I posted in.

I am new to the wet plate collodion process, and I am trying to find something that may not exist.

I would like to find a modern, possibly brand new, camera on the market that can be modified to shoot both wet plates and sheet film. I would like to shoot with an 8x10 camera (nothing larger), in order to get full plate, half plate, possibly 5x7 or 5x8 plates, and 8x10 film.

My goal is to have a very rigid camera that is also fairly lightweight. If I have to remove the capability to also shoot film, then that isn't a big deal. But I travel to areas where weight is a major issue, and every pound saved is a good thing. I am also in windy situations, and a modern rigid camera is what I would like to have.

I don't anticipate using more than a 300mm or 360mm lens, but I will need to be able to focus somewhat close to do heat shot portraits. My preference would be to do fully length body shots, head shots and environmental portraits at a distance. Some rise / fall would be nice, but no other movements are needed.

Any thoughts? I have noticed that some people have modified their 8x10 film holders to accommodate a tintype plate, which looks cool, but I wonder if there is something better out there that might already be on the market.

Thanks so so much in advance.

Andy

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images