Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,566   Posts: 1,545,397   Online: 1082

Shooter
    8x10 Format

Darkroom water, grey water, black water

At the risk of beating a dead horse I would like some advice.

I am building a new home that will incorporate a grey/black water waste system.

I have been using a septic tank for over 12 years with no problems, so my question is this: Would you classify the water from a final print washer (after selenium toning, rinse, PermaWash or KHCA and a rinse) as grey or black?

I lean toward grey, GF leans toward black.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Joe
    There is no such thing as taking too much time, because your soul is in that picture. -Ruth Bernhard

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'd say that part of that answer has to do with what you plan to do with the gray water. Are you going to use gray water just for watering plants? Will it be used for flushing toilets only? Will it be recycled in another way?

For irrigation, I see no problems. For flushing, maybe. For recycling, no.
    Randy S.

In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni.

-----

http://www.flickr.com/photos/randystankey/

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    How about forward osmosis?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Look at the msds for toner and fixer. With the caveat that a lot depends on dilution (the amount of chemicals relative to the amount of other liquid in the system), I'd be leery of putting this in my septic tank and I wouldn't use it for any edible plant irrigation. Perhaps I'm being overcautious.

I realize you've been using a septic tank for 12 years, but I would note that a septic system can fail biologically and you wouldn't know it unless your soil was tested. If there's 2 of you in the home and you're in the darkroom every evening, I would be concerned. If it's 4 and you're in there once a week, then maybe not.