Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,713   Posts: 1,483,015   Online: 687

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

Storing Liquid Emulsion

Hi All,

I'm a grad student currently making dry plates using (our good friend and fellow Oregonians) Rockaloid Liquid Light. My advisors husband (also fellow Photographer/Tech Nerd) gave me the AJ-12 Doc today and I'm very much interested in making my own emulsion. My question is - the AJ-12 doc talks about coating plates and storing them until use, is it possible to store the emulsion in a light tight bottle and keep refrigerated/at room temperature and reheat when needed a'la Liquid Light?

Any thoughts on this?

I've looked through the forums here and haven't found a real good definitive answer. Hope you all can help! Thanks in advance!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    It should keep well if refrigerated (NOT frozen). The "washed" emulsion is fairly stable, the "unwashed" emulsion is very stable (I had some in my fridge for months and it was fine).
    Adding a few drops of 10% thymol in ethanol/IPA will lessen the chance of any mold growth. It's best to re-melt only what you can coat in a session - repeated re-melting will likely cause unwanted ripening and/or damage the gelatin. If you're using a hardener, add it only to what you are immediately coating.

Have fun!
    - Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    TOO COOL another plater !

Shooter
    Large Format
    Wonderful!! Thank you for the information. I swear...with the cost of making vs. buying the rockland stuff, I'm a little bummed I didn't find this recipe sooner!! Thanks again!

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images