Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,000   Posts: 1,524,346   Online: 785

Shooter
    35mm Pan
    Images

Erythrosine questions

Hi all,

Many thanks for all the help. I am a biologist, so, there's generally numerous dyes that are readily available to me. Concerning erythrosine, which one should I get:

Erythrosin B (2)
    Erythrosin B (1)
    Erythrosin B isothiocyanate, isomer II (1)
    Erythrosin B sodium salt (1)
    Erythrosin extra bluish (1)
    Erythrosin yellowish blend (1)
    ACID RED 51 (ERYTHROSIN B C.I. 45430) (1)

also, formalin, should I use it before coating? And would a few drops of 40% in 20ml suffice?

Also, the erythrosin, can I add a few milligrams to the gelatin (in case of powder) also before coating?

Many thanks again for the help. Also, if anyone would have the time, if one has the following stais available:

http://www.sigmaaldrich.com/catalog/...ePage/14577443

Which one (if any) you would recommend for a yellow and/or green sensitizers.

Many many thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    B, sodium salt, but B as a free acid will work as well.

I don't use formalin, as stated elsewhere. I use glyoxal, but either work. Formalin is faster in some ways and slower in others depending on the situation. For glyoxal, in 10% gelatin, I take commercial glyoxal solution and dilute it to 10% by taking the original glyoxal (10ml) and adding it to 90 ml of water and then use 5 ml/100 grams of 10% gelatin. That will harden paper coatings within 4 - 8 hours and film coatings in 12 - 24 hours. Formalin works faster, but keeps hardening longer.

For formalin, use about 1/2 that and make sure for any aldehyde that the coating pH is between 5.5 and 6.5. If it goes lower, allow more time for hardening and if it goes higher it will probably set up before you can coat it.