Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,930   Posts: 1,556,873   Online: 871

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Making a photographic plate by hand

As I have stated elsewhere, I am not an expert in pouring plates by hand, but my friend, Mark Osterman is and he has made a set of slides to demonstrate this 'teapot' method. This method has been used for over 100 years in one sort or another by artisans who wish to make plates.

My thanks for this to:

Mark Osterman
    Process Historian
    Advanced Residency Program in Photograph Conservation
    George Eastman House
    International Museum of Photography
    Rochester, NY

He took time out of his busy schedule including preparations for a trip to Europe to get these photos to me in answer to the many questions here on APUG on the methodology of making plates.

My thanks to Mark. I owe him.

PE
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 60_Coating_I.jpg   62_Coating_III.jpg   64_Coating_V.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Looks easy . . . . . . in daylight.

Try doing it in the dark :-)

Very interesting, thanks Ron, I bet he make a good cup of tea too !

Ian

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Thanks, that's very handy! I think we have a ceramic vessel that looks very much like that designed for nasal irrigation that someone gave us, evidently thinking we would benefit from this natural health practice. This looks like a much better use for it.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    There were more pictures to post, but you are limited to 3 uploads so...

Mark has asked me to add this: