Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 72,546   Posts: 1,599,007   Online: 874

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Kentmere VC liquid emulsion

I apologize in advance if this question has been asked before, I couldn't find it. In the past I have used the Kentmere (formerly Luminos) emulsion and found that there is no equal in pre-made emulsions. Is there an equal product by another manufacturer and if not, what is the expense and learning curve (on a scale of 1-10) for a complete noob. I appreciate any help in this matter because my Kentmere supply is gone and I'm in mourning.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    As far as a learning curve goes, it's going to depend on your chemistry background. With help from people on APUG and a alt photo book I was able to make a liquid emulsion. I like to describe it as baking bread with dangerous chemicals in the dark. If you can find a class to take, that will be a huge benefit to reducing the learning curve.

I'm just throwing in my 2 cents until PE or Denis chime come in here with helpful information.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Check out www.thelightfarm.com (Denise runs this eminent resource) and see what you think about the complexity yourself.
    “Do your work, then step back. The only path to serenity.” - Lao Tzu

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Can't compare it with Kentmere VC liquid emulsion, but I have had some good results with Rollei/Maco Black Magic VC, which is the only LE I have tried, see picture. Emulsion is quite fragile though (probably an issue with all LEs), so watch the wet processing stage and don't over wash.

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/66152-...Contrast-300ml
    http://www.maco-photo.de/files/image...k_Magic_GB.pdf

My website