Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,847   Posts: 1,582,768   Online: 898

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Thinking about 35mm Home Brew

Sometime over the next year I have decided to try and make my own emulsion and coat onto film. Right now, I am just beginning to collect parts, pieces and materials to do this. Naturally, wanting to make this as difficult as possible, I'm going to start with 35mm. 120 or sheet film would surely be easier but I don't have a camera for it. (That might change but it's not happening right now)

Clear 35mm film leader is readily available. Assuming I can figure out a way to "sub" the material, does this leader work well as a base? My plan at the moment is to use the subbing recipe from the Wall textbook but am definitely open to other suggestions if anyone can point me at a good formula.

Thanks!

Shooter
    35mm
    Since it's easier to do sheet film why don't you just buy a view camera? It wouldn't be too expensive and making your own size would make your cost significantly higher.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I didn't have very good results with the subbing layer mentioned. I had problems with base wringling when the subbing dries.

I had great results in "subbing" POLYESTER with corona discharge. I used a commercial corona unit and also made one by myself as shown here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StgbV766dqQ . However, it broke down for an unknown reason and when I was repairing it, I got a jolt (just 230 V ;D) and left it alone for a while. I'm thinking of designing an easier-to-build, smaller and safer alternative... When it happens, I will give instructions to build one.