Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,557   Posts: 1,573,264   Online: 1018

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format

Things to do in Sydney

I am going to Sydney for work for 2 weeks on Sunday. Its my first time in Australia... I dont know how much time I will have but I wonder what recommendations there are for what to see (any exhibitions?), what to photograph, where to go if I have any time...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    If you're in or near the CBD, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House are close. Circular Quay is in-between - it's a ferry terminal. The Rocks area nearby has some interesting old buildings. There is a museum right at Circular Quay (I think it's the Museum of Contemporary Art) which sometimes has photography exhibitions - I saw a Wim Wenders exhibition there a few years ago. Stills Gallery is in Paddington which is not too much of a walk from the CBD. I was there a couple of months ago, but wasn't overly impressed with what was on there at the time.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I'll be in Sydney in two weeks, but only for a day.

Kevin has some great ideas. You might try the Ken Duncan gallery, which is located in the Rocks; it is just a 10 minute walk from Circular Quay. Campbells Storehouse (also at Circular Quay) is a nice spot to walk around and to photograph early in the morning. Take a walk over the Sydney Harbour Bridge - great views of Circular Quay and the Opera House, that are not to be missed.

Regardless, Circular Quay is a great place to start your visit; Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House, Botanical Gardens. You can get around the town on the ferry or subway system easily, do don't be afraid to venture about.
    Robert M. Teague
    www.visionlandscapes.com
    www.apug.org/forums/portfolios.php?u=2235