Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,567   Posts: 1,573,483   Online: 743

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Vinegar stop bath

This is a safe and effective stop bath that is quite inexpensive. It will not indicate exhaustion. If left too long in a tray it might form mold. Go to the store and buy the cheapest vinegar available. Mix 1 part Vinegar with 4 parts water.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Indicator stop baths are really unecessary. You can tell if a stop is active by rubbing the liquid between your fingers. If has a greasy feel, it is alkaline. I was told this by a professor way back when I was a lowly freshman. Initially, i didn'rt believe him. Sure enough, as the acidity wears off, the liquid will begin to feel greasy. I've been using this method to monitor stop bath ever since.
    Don Sigl
    www.drs-fineartphoto.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Daft as this may sound, does it matter which type of vinegar you use. Should I use ordinary malt vinegar or the colourless distilled variety? Cheers, Blights
    Norman is an island.Time and tide wait for Norman.

Shooter
    Large Format
    I would just see if it stains the paper at all - stop a test strip for an extra long time. If its a bit browny after washing get some clear vinegar.

Lots of people seem to stop in water in places with acidic water.

I have a digital pH meter (not expensive), so indicator isnt any use, though its hard to get no indicator stop anyway. Now I have strted buying raw chemicals for alt process etc I am finding I have ingredients to make stop etc anyway.

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan
    I would not use vinegar for my photos.
    Acetic acid costs next to nothing, and vinegar is not pure.
    If you're not taking your camera...there's no reason to travel. --APUG member bgilwee

Shooter
    Multi Format