Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,945   Posts: 1,585,838   Online: 998

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Advice for developing Holga negs

Hi, my name is Ben and im new on the forum. I hope this is posted in the right place?

I recently got back into my photography with the aim of developing my own film. After reading, reading and reading some more I feel ready to bite the bullet and have a go. I have a pile of b&w 35mm film that I have shot on my slr but I feel those films are a bit too important for starting out with. I dont fancy wrecking what I beleive to be a lot of good shots.
    I also own a Holga that I always carry in my bag at work ( I work as a courier in London). My job gets me all over the city, into all kinds of places and I get to spend my days watching the world go on around me. Its great for getting interesting shots. I figure that as Holga photography is hit and miss, I will start my developing experience with my growing pile of b&w 120 films. As I dont know if the shots even exposed/composed correctly I figure wrecking them in the developing stage would be less painful lol

Right, that brings me to my question (finally)
    Dose anyone have any advice or tips for developing film that was shot on a Holga ie. maybe badly exposed. Should I develop for normal or high contrast times, more or less agitation, different temp and that kinda stuff. Basically, is there anything I can do to help get usable negs at the end. Or should I just follow the normal recommended instructions?

Obviously I will be taking notes along the way to come up with my own ideas on what helps, but a point in the right direction is always a good start.

For this start I will be using FD10 with HP5/Neopan 400 120 film in a Paterson tank.

Thanks for any help in advance and hello again to the forum

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images