Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,775   Posts: 1,516,668   Online: 1145

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

May I have a critique? First photoshoot

OK so I had my first photo shoot. I am not a payed photographer and this is not a payed model so it is purely for fun.

I threw in a bunch of candids in this set and left in some out of focus images too, because I liked them. I wanted to do a lot of experimentation and hence my style and film/dev choice is all over the place and so is my camera/format selection. In the future I will be more consistent, but for my first few shoots I plan on doing a lot of experimentation. I'm not a post processing guru but I think that my pictures might be a bit too high key...I might have to fix that.

Mistakes that I already recognized:

Development:
    1. I lost too much speed with fomapan 100 + Rodinal. More exposure next time or another developer.
    2. I accidently underexposed fuji acros so I had to do a two stop push. Idiotic mistake.

Composition:
    1. The coat on the bed was a bit awkward.
    2. Sometimes the background elements were a bit distracting.

Lighting:
    1. I sometimes could have used a stronger fill.

Overall, what do you think? honestly. What would you have done differently and how can I improve?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michael...7632125565479/

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Well I've added one positive and one negative comment on flickr to get the ball rolling

Shooter
    Medium Format
    OK, I am by no means an expert on portraiture but here are my thoughts.

This is the image that jumped out for me. I like the composition and light and it suggests a story where the reader can fill in the details of who she is and who she might be looking at.

Untitled by Michael_Sergio_Barnes, on Flickr