Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,205   Posts: 1,531,777   Online: 900

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Asked to take a portrait - help!

A friend of mine has been hitting the gym and lost a lot of weight; now he wants me to take a nude/semi nude photo of him to give to his girlfriend. I've never done people photos like this before, especially in a studio type setting.

Any tips for lighting, background etc? I'm more of a landscapes sort of guy and just work with natural light. Work does have a modest pair of strobes I could borrow with an umbrella for taking the "new employees" headshot.

I've got a Nikon F6 and Df with an SB800 speedlight, as well as MF and LF cameras and the usual sort of lenses. I'm a complete newbie to indoor people pictures, so I'm looking for a primer on lighting and backgrounds. Links to such resources would be great, I'm in the "I don't know what I don't know" stage.

I've only ever done one other people shot before, and I just treated him like a landscape! That won't work in winter here, since it was -30 this week.
    http://www.apug.org/gallery1/showima...imageuser=1719

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Has he shown you examples of what he has in mind? That's where I'd start.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Alas no. I can ask that and go from there.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Just say you don't do nudie pictures. That's the best ticket. If I asked my buddy for such a thing, he'd think I was a.... (not PC).

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    Alas no. I can ask that and go from there.