Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,224   Posts: 1,532,600   Online: 932

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

how do you deal with hats?

Disclaimer. I have about 1 years experience in portraiture. I consider myself an advace hobbyist who has learned a lot, but still has a lot to learn.

The problem. Do you find it difficult to create portaits of people in hats? The brim seems to provide a difficult dilenma as it can cast a harsh shadow on the eyes.

Lighting solutions?
    No matter how soft i try to make the light it seems to cast a harsh shadow.
    If i put the light too low i seem to get vampire results.
    Is the only way. . . To use a sofy direct light at eye level? What are some other creative ways?

Will this work?
    A string of small diffused leds below the rim of the hat?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Have you tried using fill flash? With a nice diffuser or bounce, you can get just enough fill to take care of the shadow.

I wouldn't get too creative like the led arrangement. It may work but it's impractical in actual use.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    "on axis" fill or a reflector under the chin for tight shots, lower for wider but keep in mind the reflector will diminish it's effect the farther away from the brim area.

Put it where it can reflect the most light in relation to the main light.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Bigger soft boxes, bounce with reflector or large foam core directed up from the bottom, and or ring flash. Also maybe choose new poses, slightly lifting the chin and turning them, may move the brim of the hat out of the way enough, and still be flattering.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images