Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,682   Posts: 1,482,224   Online: 1059

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Help with printing in a drum

HI
    I just received my roller so I'm ready to print some 11 x14 RC prints, but I don't know how much developer to use, most of my printing has been in trays, and this is my first time using a drum, and a big drum at that. 6 in by 20in. its a Cibachrome mark II color processing drum if that make any deferents.
    any help with this project would be greatly appreciated.
    thanks Melanie

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie
    HI
    I just received my roller so I'm ready to print some 11 x14 RC prints, but I don't know how much developer to use, most of my printing has been in trays, and this is my first time using a drum, and a big drum at that. 6 in by 20in. its a Cibachrome mark II color processing drum if that make any deferents.
    thanks Melanie
    The rule of thumb .. and I don't remember where this came from - is .75 milliliters per square inch. I can hear the groans from here.. However ... that works out to 100 ml for an 11" x 14" print.

That is the recommended dose for accomplishing the task - and will be dependent on the size of the tank, the configuration, the mechanics necessary to insure complete coverage.... All of which should be archived somewhere. Failing any other information, I'd start there. If you get adequate coverage, fine .. if not, and the tank is level, use more volume.

I use JOBO tanks: 60ml for 8" x 10"; 100 ml for 11" x 14" (actually should be 103); and 300 ml for 16" x 20".

Hope this helps.
    Carpe erratum!!

Ed Sukach, FFP.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    thanks Ed
    well give it a try in the morning.
    Melanie

Images
    FWIW I am chicken about using that little solution. I would double it.
    hi!