Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,926   Posts: 1,585,068   Online: 938

Thread: Ode to FIxer

Shooter
    35mm

Ode to FIxer

Glorious Fixer
    (that magical elixir)
    Refuses to let memories be missed
    but, fortunately, allows them to persist

Rather than (justifiably) helping me trash my prosodic attempt for reasons of metric inconsistency and contextual naivety, try, instead, to understand that all films are not created equal. (That is a worthy digression.)

When you really look hard, films do react quite differently to the fixation process. Few will note this dichotomy as very extreme because most of us use rather ‘standard’ films which show merely ‘some’, but not overwhelming, disparity in the willingness to shed silver halide.

However, I have been working in a darkroom for 48 years (1964, age 14) and have had many different films within my grasp during that time. Many of these are now discontinued, but many of them I still have, unexposed. I have tried to present a continuum, below, which points out this great difference in films’ ability to be cleared. And I have tried to present my results using a simple paradigm that is clearly understandable and can be utilized without much deeper thinking.

First, I based my results upon the ability of certain films to withstand degrees of film strength fixer (FS FIX) dilution. I am standardizing the working solution here to 240ml, the smallest volume needed to process a full, 36 exposure roll of film (ie, using a stainless steel tank). 'One shot' is best but you might be able to run two 36 exp films in this working solution. Now, the dilutions.