Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,338   Posts: 1,537,720   Online: 800

Shooter
    Medium Format

New Guy Looking For Some Help

hey everyone. My name is Kevin and i am currently a photography student in Boston. I took a couple classes in high school where I developed film, but have just recently began actually shooting film. I have a question about disposing of photographic chemicals. From what I have read developer and stop bath can be poured down the drain along with water. What about wetting agent? is that also safe to drain? My main question is about fixer. I've heard about the steel wool in a bucket trick and was wondering how effective that is. I have also heard about these silver recovering units. Can anyone give me a lead on a few of these? recommended consumer level models? One of my teachers mentioned that she had one so I will ask her as well. But the ones that I found online had very little information about them. I was wondering how these units work and how much do they cost. any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Kevin, welcome to APUG.

I'm assuming you are speaking of the sort of quantities that a small 1 or 2 person darkroom generates.

Wetting agent is essentially detergent, so as long as you are speaking of working solution, it is fine to discard used wetting agent down the drain.

As far as silver recovery units are concerned, John Nanian (jnanian) is a long time, respected member of APUG who, among other things, markets a "Silver Magnet" silver recovery device.

John is great to deal with, and a really creative and generous photographer.

Here is his thread relating to the Silver Magnet: http://www.apug.org/forums/forum146/...ry-device.html
    Matt