Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,533   Posts: 1,572,697   Online: 847

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Images

The opposite of Rodinal

Since I started shooting seriously a few years ago, I've tended towards slow film and acutance developers, typically Rodinal. I've used HC-110; it's OK. I've played with staining developers with WD2D+; great when it works out, but I have trouble with consistency.

If I want to try the opposite of Rodinal, i.e. a lower acutance, very fine grain developer, what does everyone like? My typical films are FP4 and APX100, with an occasional Efke thrown in.
    "If You Push Something Hard Enough, It Will fall over" - Fudd's First Law of Opposition

Shooter
    Large Format
    I really like Pyrocat HD, and unlike the pyrogallol developers it is not as prone to uneven stainning and it is the most consistent of the stainning developers I have used. OTOH, the middle tone separation is not as good as that with Rodinal, but it is not far off, I think you would like it.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Doug Bennett
    If I want to try the opposite of Rodinal, i.e. a lower acutance, very fine grain developer, what does everyone like? My typical films are FP4 and APX100, with an occasional Efke thrown in.
    Do you want it in kit form, or pre-mixed liquid, or mix it from scratch?
    "Just because nobody complains doesn't mean all parachutes are perfect."

Images
    Thanks, Jorge, that was one that I was thinking about. As I said, I liked the WD2D+ when it worked out, but my experience was that, with film, exposure, and processing being apparently equal, I got wide swings in negative density. I'm a condenser guy, so I prefer a thinner negative.