Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,458   Posts: 1,643,786   Online: 741

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Newbie - how much do I need to process?

I have read a lot about it. I am not in the USA so things can be more expensive here.

Ilfostop and Rapid Fixer runs out to about $35US together.
    A powder developer like Perceptol is $10US that makes 1L undiluted. A liquid developer is about $35US.

As a newbie hobbyist, I only have2 rolls of Ilford HP5+. Of course it's uneconomical to purchase $45-70US of chemicals to process (2) rolls of film.

So how many do you suggest a hobbyist to do? Ie., collect up. Noting that many of them don't even shoot a good few rolls per month. I may run a roll every month or two, if I go on a trip I may shoot more. But I shoot color film as well.

In addition, the Ilford Datasheet notes that chemicals last 6 - 1 months (full bottles - half bottles). The exception being liquid developers may last 36 - 24 months (DD-XX). But given the more expensive cost of liquid developers I may stick with powders and simply collect my film up and develop. Once a year?

Thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'd recommend HC-110, or Ilford's counterpart, as your best bet in long-lasting liquid developer. Particularly if you keep it in tightly capped & full bottles (you could transfer it to something smaller as the volume goes down), it should easily last a year, possibly longer.