Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,898   Posts: 1,521,019   Online: 809

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Solarization with Ilford paper and developer?

Is it possible?

I'm teaching phototechnique in an art school, and there is a project on surrealism coming up. Solarization is one of the topics we are going through. I remember doing solarizations when I was a student myself, but can't remember much more than turning on the lights at some point when the paper was in the developer.

I have been reading a little bit here (http://www.apug.org/forums/forum41/5...n-man-ray.html) and there (http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/So...arization.html), and found out (among several things) that solarization of large-format negatives (by exposing them to light during developing) can be one thing. Anyway, I would like to show them solarization of prints, but it seems like developer/paper combo is important.

Can Ilford RC-paper and Ilford MG-developer be used succesfully? (It's what we use at the school now). We have EFKE 25 ISO 4x5" film, so maybe that is a good one to try for film?

Any tip and experiences you have would be great, thanks!

Marius

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Marius;

What you describe is the Sabattier effect. You flash a light on the print in the developer. This is usually done at about 3/4ths of the way through development and is about 1 - 5 seconds with a white light at about 10W at 5 feet. I use that strange measure because I just take the filter off my safelight and flash the paper.

It generally gives poorer results with MG papers due to the color of the light source which can alter contrast. It is more stable with graded paper.

PE

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Photo Engineer is quite correct, do not confuse Solarization with Sabattier.