Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,536   Posts: 1,572,737   Online: 760

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

LPD and shelf life?

Hi All,

A question on LPD paper developer as I am getting ready to mix my first batch. I am liking what I read regarding changing image tone with dilution. I had previously used Zonal pro HQ when I wanted a warmtone on neutral cold paper and liked it very much. Then suddenly like so much in this area of photography it disappeared. I tried the supposedly equivalent Arista HQ warmtone developer from freestyle and did not like it at all(perhaps i should change the dilution). So LPD is next for testing as an alternative. When they say is has long try life they don't mean Ansco 130 try life do they or are they referring to strong activity throughout one printing session??? I have been using Ansco for over two months in my slot processor and quite happy with it so interested how LPD would fit into my workflow.

Any experiences shared are greatly appreciated.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I recently started using this on the advice of Don Cardwell. Between printing sessions, it stays in a one liter glass bottle; I use the stock to top off the bottle after each session (replacing what was lost through absorption). It has been working very well for me, seems very consistent and truly long lasting. Nice not to have to dump it after each printing session.
    Parker Smith Photography, Inc.
    Atlanta, GA

Commercial & Fine Art Photography
    Portrait Photography

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    LPD can be used as a replenished developer. There are directions for proper mixtures for normal use and how to mix as a replenisher. This stuff lasts forever, I just keep my one liter bottle topped off and keep going. It lasts weeks or even months between uses if kept in a full sealed bottle.