Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,551   Posts: 1,573,116   Online: 738

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

old b&w film, need help processing

I was given (3) 100 foot rolls of Kodak 2479 RAR film buy my uncle, who was a photographer from the 40's thru the 80's. the film exp date is 1969. He says that it is 400 speed and still good. I would like to try a roll, so I have one in a bulk loader. I would like to know what chemicals to use for developing and times etc. Can someone help. I am new to this forum and really love doing darkroom work. I have been doing darkroom work since 1970.
    Thanks,
    Bart

Shooter
    Large Format
    This is what I have done with very old or even unknown films. Load seven rolls with about 5 or 6 exposures plus leader. Pick five test subjects and shoot all rolls the same (all frame 1 on subject 1, 2 on 2.....) at ISO 400. so you have 7 identical rolls. develop in D-76 or ID-11 at 68f for 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 18 min. pick the best time and do the test again with three rolls shot at ISO 400, 200, 100. this will give a good idea of yout best time/ISO combination. Then check other charts for films in that ISO that develop near that time in D-76 and check out what other developer/time they use. 35 year old film may still be good but the ISO should be slower and development might not be the same as it was. Good luck
    DIGITAL IS FOR THOSE AFRAID OF THE DARK.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by $modelman$