Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,926   Posts: 1,556,802   Online: 964

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Arista EDU ultra 100 in 4 X 5 -- a developing question

I'm a newbie using this film in my also-new 4 by 5 Zero Image camera and so seek guidance. What is the best way to process this film after dealing with all the reciprocity failure stuff -- I've been developing it as instructed in D-76 diluted 1:1 for "8 to 10 minutes" which is confusing enough -- I start pouring the developer into a daylight drop-tank at 10 minutes -- and the development seems fine.

However, I've noticed the film seems to be extremely granular and there seem to be slightly dark slotches in the sky areas -- randomly distributed, not sure if they're a problem with the development, or how the film is made, or whatever. The granularity is also interesting -- haven't seen anything like it since I did some minox film (asa 100 ilford, if memory serves) in Rodinol and it came out really grainy.

So, what do people advice? I just bought 100 sheets of the stuff so there's ample room to learn.

I should note that I haven't actually made any prints yet -- I've been scanning the negatives with a canoscan 9000, which crops them a bit but does fine. When I learn better I may want to try some fuji Acros ... then again, if I continue to have trouble with this stuff I may get discouraged, and what fun is that?

Southern Forest Region, Western Australia
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    A few dead sheets at the beginning is nothing to get discouraged about, as long as we can find out why they died, and true experimentation is fun

Can you make high res' scans of an offending areas, crop them down to little bits that show the problem as big enlargements of those small bits that can be posted here so the assembled throng can help?