Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,301   Posts: 1,536,136   Online: 858

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Anyone using Polymax RT Developer?

A lab is closing nearby and selling 50 5L jugs of this stuff for $20 a pop. I generally buy Ilford paper developer, just 'cause it's convenient (I'd prefer LPD, but no local shops sell it), but it's $50+tax for the same size. I thought I'd buy a bunch of this stuff, but wondering what opinions anyone has, what characteristics I can expect from various dilutions and info on how well it stores.

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Jordan:

I've been using Polymax RT almost exclusively for a few years.

In my case, I have been using the 32 oz. bottles (my usage is not high).

I don't vary my dilutions. I use the Kodak recommended 1 + 9 for everything.

It is cheap enough to use one shot, so that is what I do except for the rare occurrence when I am printing two days in a row, in which case if the evening batch has been just a few prints, I'll bottle it up and use it again in the morning.

It behaves much the same as Dektol/D-72. As I understand it, in other parts of the world it is actually labelled as "Liquid Dektol".

Like Dektol, if you leave it for a long time in a tray (like over-night) it tends to stain the tray.

The concentrate seems to last a long time. If you have a half full bottle it will eventually discolour, but seems to remain active even then.

I find the capacity information on Kodak's website conservative but otherwise accurate.

FWIW Glazer's in Seattle sells this in large quantities, so there must be commercial or institutional users.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”