Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,206   Posts: 1,531,833   Online: 822

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Fixer formula using these two chemicals

I've been using Arista oderless fixer for several years in liquid form. Now that I'm no longer in los angeles, the xtra shipping charges are $$$$$ and I'd rather mix my own anyway. It contains
    Ammonium thiosulfate
    Sodium bisulfite

Who's got a formula for me that uses these chemicals?
    Here's the msds
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ImageUploadedByTapatalk1331433571.717926.jpg  
    www.vinnywalsh.com

I know what I want but I just don't know how to go about gettin' it.-Hendrix

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    This is the formula from The Darkroom Cookbook for TF-3:

Ammonium thiosulfate (57-60%)..... 800 mL
    Sodium sulfite.............................. 60 g.
    Sodium metaborate....................... 5 g.
    Add water to 1 Ltr.

Dilute 1:4 (1+3). Fix film 3 min, paper 1 min, followed by 1 min continuous wash.

Not to be used with an acid stop bath and there is no need for a Hypo wash.

I have not used this yet but I will be getting the metaborate Monday. I've been using TF-4 which I believe is TF-3 in an already liquid form.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Bruce, your formula makes an alkaline fixer while wildbill's ingredients make a rather acidic fixer. Sodium bisulfite by itself is quite acidic and it is usually used together with sodium sulfite. Look here for a popular recipe. Since sodium sulfite is not overly toxic there is a chance it doesn't show up on your msds.

If you are absolutely determined to make it work without sodium sulfite, think of two things:
    • If your pH drops too low, the thiosulfate will decompose and becomes ineffective. Stay above pH 4.5 at all times