Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,069   Online: 1214

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Sulphuric acid substitute

I'm a newbie on this forum so please don't shoot my back... :-)
    I've got the following question: is there a substitute for sulphuric acid in the b&w reversal process, and if yes, what quantity or concentration?
    Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Quote Originally Posted by Alessandro Serrao
    I've got the following question: is there a substitute for sulphuric acid in the b&w reversal process, and if yes, what quantity or concentration?
    Thanks in advance.
    The reversal step needs quite a strong acid, most recipes I remember are 10-15 ml of sulfuric acid, of course if you are more comfortable you can use diluted sulfuric acid in a higher amount.
    I could not find the source but I think you might be able replace it with either the sodium hydrogen sulfate or potassium hydrogen sulfate, roughly three times the weight. Maybe it was Maco or Foma reversal formula.

To be honest I would recommend to use the acid and just be careful, battery acid is sulfuric acid.

Regards,

Wolfram
    Colour? We can always use an airbrush later...

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Go read http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/NbyR/nbyr.html

He recommends Permanganate Reversal Bleach.

There was a thread on permanganate recently on apug.

Best,

William
    "I know of no country in which there is so little independence of mind and real freedom of discussion as in America." -- Alexis de Tocqueville

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'm a newbie on this forum so please don't shoot my back... :-)
    Thanks in advance.