Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,438   Online: 821

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Two fixer questions

I have some fixer (Ilford rapid fix) that I have been using for several months and have tested it with Hypo check before each use. I'm getting ready to develop 6 rolls of 120 this morning and as I was pouring the fixer noticed a bunch of black particles in the fix. I tested it and it test OK, however it was sent to the recycle container. Had I filtered it through a paper filter would it have being OK to use?

Next I mixed up the last of a 1000 ml bottle of the Rapid fix and noticed it was full of crystals and figure I might sit it in a warm water bath, stir it and get them to go back into solution. This might have worked however it wasn't happening very fast, so it too was relegated to the recyle container. Would it have gone into solution had I heated it up a bit more and would it have been OK to use?

I had a new bottle of Rapid fix and really was resisting dumping the $2 or $3 worth of crystalized fixer. The images are important and I didn't want to risk using something which had the potential screw up the negatives. Should I have just "manned up" and heated the heck out of it and gone for it?

Bill Barber

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Fixers tend to drop colloidal silver out of solution as blackm bits, they normally have no ill effects but are best decanted off or filtered out. Don't shake a used fixer bottle prior to use.

Somtimes concentrates of rapid fixers do have some slight crystallisation or trace of sulphur at the bottom, this is quite normal but I'd just filter out and use as normal. It's only an issue where there's excessive breakdown of the fixer and by then yopu can smell thesulphur.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but....