Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,518   Online: 772

Shooter
    35mm

Arista EDU Ultra Issues

Hello APUG,

This is my first time posting, and just recently got into rolling, developing my own film. I figured for a start I would try Arista EDU ULTRA ISO 200. So far I have had less than great results. The images are thin and have very little contrast. I have snooping around the forums for answers, but haven't found anything I haven't already tried. Are some of these rolls lemons cause they come from the Czech Republic? Or should I just have spent the extra $20 on TriX?

These are the steps I have checked for error so far:

-Film in bulk loader with correct orientation
    -Shot tests through multiple cameras
    -Used chemistry to develop TMax 400 and came out fine
    -Used stock D-76 for recommended 5-6 mins
    -Used stock D-76 and push processed for 10 mins
    -Used D-76 1:1 and processed for 10 mins

So yeah, i've been trying to find a sweet spot for this film and all my results end up pretty similar. If anyone has any input i'd greatly appreciate it. If I can't get any better results in the next couple days i'll just order some TriX and be done with it.

BTW, I use all Kodak chemistry, but just started so don't know how much that will effect development. Thanks!!

TMAX 400 (120)developed in same chemistry, all standard times.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TMAX 400 4 (1).jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	63.4 KB 
ID:	48510

Arista 200 (135)developed all standard times

Name:	Pentax MX Arista 200 5.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	58.9 KB 
ID:	48511

Shooter
    Multi Format
    If your negative is coming out thin and low in contrast, you might want to increase your development time by 20% and see what happens.