Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,672   Posts: 1,481,817   Online: 1131

Shooter
    35mm

Overdeveloped or overexposed? Tri-x400/ D-76

Hello. Im quite new to developing myself and i cant get my head around this one!

I developed three rolls of tri x 400 yesterday. They came out really really bright!

Heres two examples (one from each roll, developed differently)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img153.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	505.8 KB 
ID:	48791Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img183.jpg 
Views:	118 
Size:	289.7 KB 
ID:	48792

Im 99% sure my cameras expose right. Ive shot these pictures with two different Olympus Om2.
    I did manage to "save" them by reducing light and contrast in the scanning process.

Example:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img164.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	520.4 KB 
ID:	48793Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img189.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	313.9 KB 
ID:	48794

They look really bad and boring but i do get the details out? Isnt that a sign of overdeveloping. Shouldnt it be all burnt out if it was overexposed?

Now to my real question!
    I developed two rolls in stock d76 solution for 6.45 seconds, stop for 1 min and 10 min of fix. I saw the big failure and did my next roll with 1:1 solution, exactly 21 celcius for 9 min (as the charts say). 1 min stop and again 10 min fix. Same bad result!!

Ive heard about bleaching the negs back and i am thinking of doing it at a photo shop to save my pictures but i really wanna develop by myself but i dont get what i do wrong here?

I use 1 bag of d76 (for one liter). Stir it in the right temperture in 800ml water, then the 200ml rest like it says. I use citrin stop diluted 1:19 as it says and Illford Rapid fixer diluted 1:4 as it says.

Hope someone can help me here!
    Regards
    Johan (Sweden)