Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,294   Posts: 1,535,550   Online: 1087

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

FP4 Plus - First Impressions

Yesterday was a beautiful day here in Quebec City so I decided to take my C220 down to the Plains of Abraham and shoot some.

I have been shooting almost exclusively Delta 100 and 400, but decided to try some FP4 Plus for a change. I deliberately chose situations of extreme light and dark to see what latitude it has. Wow! Am I ever impressed! Although I have very little experience in these things, my first impression is that the FP4 is much more flexible and forgiving of extremes than is the Delta. All of my frames turned out, even the ones in which the Delta would have failed.

I'm going to print some today to see how the prints differ, but so far I'm quite impressed.

Kent
    Max Power, he's the man who's name you'd love to touch! But you mustn't touch! His name sounds good in your ear, but when you say it, you mustn't fear! 'Cause his name can be said by anyone!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I prefer HP5, FP4 and Pan F to the Deltas. Especially Pan F. They seem to be more forgiving on both exposure and development. IMO they also have better tonality. Now, if I were only good enough to take maximun advantage of all that...

Honestly, I DO keep a few rolls of Delta 3200 around just for fun.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Yeah, Kent, I agree!
    I started off shooting HP5, then FP4. Then someone said "use Delta 100" so I tried that. (I do like delta 100 shot @ 50). But I was amazed with the FP4 I shot in the Hassy! Wow! Of course I could just be smitten by those larger negs! haha But FP4 is now in my 'arsenal'!
    Jeanette
    .................................................. ................
    Isaiah 25:1

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images