Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,927   Posts: 1,522,142   Online: 932

Shooter
    35mm RF

I made the biggest noob's mistake during mixing D76 powder !

Hi, i'm a total newbie to BnW developing.

The very first and biggest mistake i made is when mixing the D76 powder to make up 3.8 litres developer.

First, i prepared 3 litres of 50 C water and added the whole pack of D76, stirred till dissolved, BUT I added too much water in the last step !!
    I totally forgot the volume of powder that would increase the total volume after mixing into the 3 litre water, all thanks to the SLEEPY BRAIN !

The volume of water i added in the last step was about 800 ML !! The stock developer has a volume of 4.6 LITRES !!

The stock developer is no longer full strength, how do i calculate the ratio now?

EDIT: I suddenly figured out the calculation...but i'm not sure if it's correct...

The strength of the solution now is about 1:0.204 OR 4.9:1

So whenever i develop let's say i wanna make 1+1, i'll have to use lesser water to dilute compared to the original chart in order to compensate...

I need more advice ! Thanks !
    Last edited by edftwin; 05-07-2012 at 06:28 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It shouldn't make that much difference. Are you sure you have 4.6l or only added 800ml? Using 1+1 time charts you could adjust the dilution to 45:55% water to stock as one idea.
    http://www.tonyeganphotography.com/index.html
    "Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others." Groucho Marx

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Egan View Post
    It shouldn't make that much difference. Are you sure you have 4.6l or only added 800ml? Using 1+1 time charts you could adjust the dilution to 45:55% water to stock as one idea.