Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,707   Posts: 1,548,505   Online: 906

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Negative management

Now that I have been shooting (35mm) again I have been labeling the negative pages with the year and the roll for that year, e.g. 2012-007. A print will be noted with the frame number in my notebook, e.g. 2012-007-22. This works fine for me but when I have seen mention of negatives in magazines or museum catalogs they often seem to use a system that is undecipherable. Has anybody used a system as simple as mine and later realized it had a flaw in use over time?

s-a
    I photograph things to see what things look like photographed.
    - Garry Winogrand

Shooter
    35mm
    I've been doing exactly what you do for more than ten years without any issues.
    Steve.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    When the roll comes out of the camera I use a marker to note the date and the camera I used along with any special processing instructions. If I've finished multiple rolls in a day with the same camera I attach a letter. (e.g. PCM060812b FE2 N+1)

My negative pages get all that information along with my initials (to distinguish from my wife's negatives), the developer I used and the date I processed.

The back of the print gets the date, frame and basic exposure information (PCM060812b 11 sec @ f16).

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Haaa, I use a 4 digit number, YQRR (year, quarter, roll). Didn't think too far in advance.

Four decades later...

Shooter
    Multi Format