Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,592   Posts: 1,546,085   Online: 927

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Paper chemicals temps and times

Hi guys
    I am new to all this darkroom malarkey and I'm enjoying it. Now I have built a darkroom in my loft and have been producing some ok-ish 5x7 prints for my learning curve. The main problem I find, is that I can't use my darkroom when the weather is warm due to the developer (ilford multigrade) getting too hot and shortening the developing time (1 min) or the prints come to out to dark due to over development (I presume). My question is there a paper developer that works at a higher room temp 25-30* that I can learn with that has as short developing times and give good consistent results that I can easily interpret the finishing print?
    Irv

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    you can dilute your developer to compensate somewhat if you like.
    www.vinnywalsh.com

I know what I want but I just don't know how to go about gettin' it.-Hendrix

Shooter
    Multi Format
    More likely fog or overexposed prints. Prints are usually developed to completion irrespective of the temp., unless you want a low-contrast effect. Is your darkroom dark?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I live in Central Florida and my room temp is 81F(ish) which is 27C. Sometimes it gets warmer.

I never have the problem you have.... (I use Dektol)

If your print is coming out too dark, you either need to reduce the exposure time, close the aperture more, or both. You could also be dealing with too high of a contrast which can give you an appearance of excessive density.