Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,686   Posts: 1,482,318   Online: 966

Thread: D76 brown drops

Shooter
    35mm

D76 brown drops

Hi all,

Sorry if this a silly question but I searched the forum and other websites to find an answer but couldn't find any. I experienced an unusual occurrence today after I mixed my D76 and not sure what the reason could be. I am not an expert in darkroom but I am not a very beginner either. I have been developing my own films without any problems for a while now.

So today, after I mixed D76 powder in a 5 liter jar like I always do, I closed its cap tightly and put it in a dark place in the bathroom to wait until it cools down and settles so that I can filter it and put in separate bottles. After 5-6 hours, I went back to get the jar and I found, unexpectedly, there were brown water drops, dripping down inside the bottle from the top. Attached picture shows what they looked like. Lucky, I was there right on time because they were still sliding down slowly and hadn't reach the developer yet. After I opened the cap, I realized there was some powder left in inner part of the mouth of the jar. It probably happened as I was pouring it down and got stuck there because the jar was wet. I usually clean the mouth of the jar for any residue, but this time, for some reason, I neglected to do it, I don't know why. I immediately cleaned the mouth and was able to get the developer to a clean jar, but during the process, a few drops went into the developer.

The only reason I can think why the drops would turn brown is oxidization. But I know that I closed the cap tightly and this is a new powder, its expiration date is in 2013. So I cannot think of any other reason why that would happen.

I was wondering if anyone here experienced the same thing and if the developer might have been affected by the few drops that went in.