Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,771   Posts: 1,484,340   Online: 1197

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

RC prints look dull

I haven't had a darkroom for 24 years and just started printing again this year. Long story so suffice it to say raising 3 kids and working left little time.
    Anyhow, I bought a 100 sheet box of Arista Edu RC VC to get the hang of printing again. After a number of sessions the results are less than what I expected. The prints look dull or even might be described as muddy.
    Fresh chemicals mixed according to directions were used. Test strips were made. Dev/fix according to directions.
    I did a safelight test before starting. There is no fog even at 15 minutes.
    Compared to the Polycontrast FB prints made years ago the RC paper has no 'snap' or crispness.
    I've never tried RC paper before so I must be missing something either in exposing or processing.
    Any suggestions or tips are welcomed.
    Thanks,
    Wade

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What surface are you using - glossy, pearl or semi-matte?
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    35mm
    Well, it sounds like your paper is bad.
    RC paper, altough plastic and very unpleasant to touch (the glossy kind), can be a pleasure to look at. Behind a glass you are not supposed to see a difference VS. FB.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images