Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,856   Posts: 1,583,000   Online: 1100

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

My personal project: printing it all!

I've been shooting and printing for 20 years now. I'm 36, started at 14, buried myself in the darkroom ever since I was 16. I remember fluctuating from prefering to shoot, then prefering to print... all until I was about 25 where I stopped Printing every 4 negs at a time. That was a bad decision because once you stop the cycle the negs pile up and then you just let it go for that "one day when I'll print them all".

About 3 years ago I decided I'd start from new: print all my negatives from the very beginning, one by one, baby steps. My rough calculations was that it would take me about 10 years of regular printing to finish it off.
    I chose to print all my stuff on FB paper. First, all on 8x10, then the better ones would get pri ted on 11x14 also. The even better ones on 16x20 and 20x24.

Finally, my baby steps are paying off. I printed about 1500 8x10, 1500 11x14, 500 16x20 and 150 20x24 (My plans changed along the way and decided I'd go to 11x14 straight). Each and every print is done with the best of my abilities, all archival grade, all on a beautiful focomat IIc (which accepts xpan negatives! What a JOY!!!).
    I'm at about 1/5 through this personal project and I couldn't be happier. There's nothing like having your own bunker.

The morale of this story? Consistant Baby steps ARE giant steps.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images
    I am very impressed.. make sure you put these prints away with care, and sign and number them all..

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by NB23 View Post
    My plans changed along the way and decided I'd go to 11x14 straight.
    Great project!