Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,556   Posts: 1,573,200   Online: 989

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Blog Entries
    Images

Xtol or Microphen?

Just trying to understand the similarities and differences between the two. I've never used Microphen before. I'm planning on using one with 120 HP5, mainly pushing to EI 800 in flat light but sometimes shooting at 400 as well. I have heard Microphen pushes slightly better. Though Xtol is available in 5L packets which I like and also much cheaper than Micropen.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    They are not all that similar in image characteristics. To be honest I would say that once you are into pushing territory the speed differences between XTOL and Microphen are probably trivial. Having said that, they do look different (although again when pushing, all bets are off in terms of image characteristics). What I mean is, XTOL is significantly finer grained than Microphen under normal circumstances, but since I don't push film I can't tell you what happens in that scenario. One thing that can make XTOL good for pushing in general is that it compensates more than more typical Phenidone-based formulas like Microphen. But a semi-traditional film like HP5+ might just look better in Microphen than XTOL. Just some thoughts.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael R 1974 View Post