Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,947   Posts: 1,585,916   Online: 1043

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Is this a processing problem?

Hi
    I'm new to film photography and send all my film to a pro lab for processing.
    I've been testing different varieties of black and white film to find the ones I like best for serious work.
    I recieved a roll of t-max 100 back the other day and most of the skies show a problem.
    The attached file shows a crop of the sky of one of the worse images. The first is a standard scan and the second one has the levels adjusted to show the problem more clearly.
    I'm wondering if this is a processing problem or whether it could be caused by a filter? I'm using some rather cheap Lee colour filters made from polyester. They are square and quite bendy. I'm pretty sure I used an orange filter on this one.
    Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Tmax.jpg  

Shooter
    35mm
    I take it you are sure that the scan of the neg faithfully replicates the problem on the neg which is obvious to your eye? It cannot be a scanning issue?

I'd have expected a more defined sky with an orange filter but I doubt that the Lee filter will be the problem unless it has an obvious defect which presumably you'd have noticed.

Has this pro-lab processed other films of yours satisfactorily?

If a pro-lab processes the film only how do you produce prints? If the defect is in the neg but your camera hasn't produced such negs before then it suggests that the pro-lab's processing is at fault. If it is a pro-lab then talking to them and returning the neg should produce an acknowledgement that the fault is theirs.

With the cost of pro-lab processing and the risk of relying on others, I'd consider purchasing the equipment to do it yourself.

pentaxuser

Shooter
    Multi Format