Switch to English Language Passer en langue franįaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,926   Posts: 1,585,050   Online: 970

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Delta 100 at 24ēC? Please advise to a beginner.

Hi everyone! (my 1st post)

I develop relatively small amounts of B&W 35mm at home and then scan them.
    For now I don't make analog enlargements, all the processing is in the computer.

I shoot ILFORD Delta 100 and HP5. I use ID-11 for everything, because I'm still learning. I may eventually switch to Kodak D-76 which is cheaper here.

I live in Chicago, and especially in the summer, I discovered that developing at 20ēC is an issue.
    The interior air temperature is 23ēC or more and trying to maintain 20ēC developer is impractical. I'd much more prefer to develop at 24ēC - this is my cold tap water temperature anyways (around 23.5ēC).
    Delta 100 packaging only lists 20ēC times at 1+0 or 1+1 ID-11 solution.

QUESTION for you guys: what are the ramifications of switching to developing Delta 100 at 24ēC (1+1 or 1+3)?
    24ēC would be like 7.5 minutes in 1+1, does it make sense to switch to 1+3 and extend the time?

On Delta 100, I'd like to keep the grain as small as possible, as well as maintain smooth contrast, because I prefer to adjust contrast in digital post-processing.
    Can you share your wisdom?

Thank you!
    --
    Matt (35mm B&W processing beginner)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try a tub of water and a few icecubes to cool it down, put a bottle of developer in the fridge to cool it down as well. Much easier than keeping C41 processing at +/- a half degree at almost 100F.
    Bob

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images