Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,557   Posts: 1,573,277   Online: 1021

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Making some Parodinal, but would appreciate more insight...

Dear all,

This would be my first post, but I've been hovering around here for about 2 years.

I've tried my best to read up as much as I could before posting, and I have gotten quite far in creating my home brew Parodinal developer. I now need to fine tune the recipe, but my non existent knowledge of chemistry combined with all the internet posts out there (at least the ones I've found and/or understood) are failing me to get what I want...

What I have stocked:
    - Sodium Sulphite (anhydrous)
    - Sodium Carbonate (anhydrous)
    - Sodium Ascorbate
    - Ascorbic Acid
    - Paracetamol Powder (Ph Eur 7.0) - I bought this from a pharmaceutical manufacturer.
    - Distilled water (I have a small distiller)
    - Sodium Hydroxide. (small clean white flakes form the hardware store)

I own have a jeweller's scale measuring in 0,1gr increments, with a max of 500gr.
    I also have a digital thermometer with a 15cm thin metal probe.

On Saturday (Aug 25th) I made my first two batches follwing ZorkiKat's method;

Parodinal Batch 25082012-01:
    1) Sodium Sulphite (50gr) was added into 125ml of water and dissolved as best as possible. Much of it didn't.
    2) Sodium Hydroxide (20gr) was mixed into a separate amount of water (100ml). This, once dissolved, reached a temperature of approx 49ºC.
    3) Paracetamol powder (15gr) was added to Hydroxide mixture, which quickly dissolved and took on a clear pale pink colour. This solution was stirred and cooled in a cool water bath.
    4) While cooling solution in Step 3. the solution suddenly became cloudy and viscous at +/- 23ºC, at which the temperature rose by +/- 0,4ºC.