Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,948   Posts: 1,557,853   Online: 816

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Med. Format RF

Fiber Paper Discussion

This Spring I ordered 50 shts of 11x14 EMAKS Grade 3, my base paper. Lucky me! I'm disappointed EMAKS is gone. So I'm back looking for another paper. I've used the following papers and note some characteristics. I have extensive experience with Ilford WT which seems the all-rounder for WT papers.

Ilford WT - buff paper base which some may feel is too yellow, does not split tone like Bergger WT
    Ilfobrom Galerie - clean white paper base, long scale, strong blacks, smooth tonal changes, lower contrast in low tones vs EMAKS, better highlight separation than EMAKs, print tone somewhat pencil-like, resists fogging under bright OC safelight, a hint of WT until toned.
    ADOX Fine Print Variotone - white paper base, shorter scale than Ilfobrom, more a grey tone, readily tones with resulting tone shifts, red safelight
    ADOX 110 - (very glossy) warm grey tone like Agfa MCC, use for thin negs
    Fomabrom Graded - paper base slightly more buff than EMAKS graded, neutral tone, not as sharp as EMAKS
    Fomabrom Variant VCFB - paper base and emulsion tone similar to Fomabrom Graded
    Fomatone MG Classic VC WT - very buff to yellow paper base, emulsion tone yellow vs mushroom/brown
    Fomatone MG Classic Fomabrom Variant IV MG -VC FB 123 Velvet - interesting surface with warmish gray tone, OC compatible

Any thoughts on current papers still available??
    Last edited by Richard Jepsen; 09-20-2012 at 02:03 PM. Click to view previous post history.
    RJ

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I personally like Ilford MGIV (not warmtone), because it can do so many things.
    1. You can get an almost neutral black and white, with very little color tint.