Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,858   Posts: 1,583,109   Online: 937

Shooter
    Medium Format

Undeveloped 4x5 Edges?

I am relatively new to 4x5 development....a "veteran" of the darkroom, however. I am using a Jobo CPE2Plus and the 2509 reels in the 2553 tank.

I use Tmax RS mostly and periodically I have little purple or blue "undeveloped" edges on my film. The image is beautifully developed and the edge markings are nice and dark, but on the long edges of the sheets the emulsion hasn't completely cleared.

What should I do to avoid this?

Thanks experts!!
    Charles R. Lawson, CPP, AFP
    PPA Certified Professional Photographer
    The Highlander Studios
    804-436-9999
    charles@quantum-imaging.com
    www.thehighlanderstudios.com
    www.facebook.com/highlanderstudios
    www.flickr.com/charleslawson

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Sounds to me like fixer isn't getting to those "undeveloped" edges. You can get rid of them by re-fixing the negatives - in room light and small trays should be fine.

It may be that developer isn't getting there either, but given their location, it probably doesn't matter.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format