Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,519   Posts: 1,572,217   Online: 978

Shooter
    35mm RF

Ilford warmotone resin v fibre

I've been printing on Multigrade warmtone resin for the last 6 months and love the stuff ;-) My fiber experience is limited but my only trouble has been flattening the prints. I am not concerned about being truly archival but like the 'feel' and texture of some of the fiber prints I have seen.

I am interested in the different to the actual feel between Ilford's warmtone resin and fiber. Do they feel similar? If the only advantage is archival-ability then I think I'll stick with resin but if the paper itself is more 'interesting' then I think I'll try fiber.

Thanks.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    They feel very different, and the fiber is less warm.
    www.gregorytdavis.com

Did millions of people suddenly disappear? This may have an answer.

"No one knows that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father." -Matthew 24:36

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'll be curious to hear other replies as I have used almost 100% warm tone fiber until now and love it. I had to go resin coated for 20x24 because of potential paper expansion issues in my Jobo 3063 drum. If I like it I will order a 20" wide 250 foot roll of it and do all my larger print work with that.

I got a 10 sheet box of the 20x24 to try out, should be fun...
    "I'm the freak that shoots film. God bless the freaks!" ~ Mainecoonmaniac ~

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    There's a difference when you hold a dry print in your hand. To me, the RC looks like plastic. The fiber looks like paper.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Blog Entries
    Images