Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,276   Posts: 1,534,708   Online: 926

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

so i want to get some film...arista.edu

I'm interested in trying out some film from freestyle.

I'm particularly interested in their .edu line, mostly for economy. ISO 100, 200, and 400 in 35mm and 120. I'm actually interested in exploring this option since the ISO 100 premium line is discontinued (I'm aware that this is kodak film) and you can't get acros in bulk. I'm aware that there were some QC issues in the past but it is arguably better (I'm not sure) these days. I'm a hobbyist so having 100 % reliability, although desireable, is not crucial for my type of work. If i were getting paid or really wanted QC then i'd go with kodak/fuji/ilford for sure.

How are these films?
    1. What is the base? Clear or blue? I've read that they have changed. If so, is it clear for ALL of the film's? Not sure if it makes a difference but I had shot some of this film a long time ago (120 ISO 400) and the blue base looked odd to me. I didn't like it but I didn't give it a chance.

2. How is the QC these days? Still spotty?

3. From what I gather, 100/400 will be similar to plus-x/tri-x (traditional grain) while 200 will be similar to tmax 100 (t-grain)?

4. Which film is the finest grain? ISO 100 or ISO 200? T-grain is supposed to be finer (usually) but lower ISO film is fine too. I'm sure there are exceptions but this is from what I gather on the internet.

5. Anyone prefer the .edu 400 over premeium 400? My thinking is that I should stick with 100 as a plus-x substitute, 200 as an acros substitue, and stick with premium 400.

The three films that I use for these formats are plus-x, tri-x, and fuji acros.

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan