Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,692   Posts: 1,482,404   Online: 721

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Picking a film curve

Hi,

today I went out and photographed a friend of mine.

I loaded up some tri-x. We went out to the designed place. I put a grey card to the side of his face and metered. Then I spot metered the middle of his left cheek - he is Japanese, a little dark - meter said half a stop difference - and I started shooting.

The day was very overcast, almost "grey".

Which curve do I pick? (See attached image).

I thought, since the day was so overcast, I can probably go to 9 minutes and not blow any highlight. Correct?

Thanks.

Shooter
    35mm
    Here is the curve.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	trix.PNG 
Views:	91 
Size:	78.6 KB 
ID:	60135

Shooter
    Multi Format
    If you print on multigrade paper, you can use a curve in the middle. If you find yourself printing on 00 or 5 frequently, you can adjust the negative development time for future rolls to give more or less contrast. I'd start with 7 minutes.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I might go 7 then adjust with paper from there.

With roll film I don't move too far from normal.

When shooting sheets (1 & a spare) I still do the first sheet at my norm then decide about sheet 2.
    Mark Barendt, Ignacio, CO

"We do not see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Anaïs Nin

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'd err slightly to the low contrast side then selenium tone if more contrast is needed.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I don't TMAX dev, I use D76 1+1 and the times are generally in the 9-10 (20c) mark but in this situation I'd opt for a tad more time for some snap.

The only time I don't like TriX is when it's flat in flat light.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images