Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,496   Posts: 1,543,050   Online: 1018

Shooter
    Multi Format

I need some input

from you folks if you can.

I bought some un-opened Kodak Panalure II RC 8x10 of an ebayer. Can't remember what the exp. date is on it.

Anyway, I'm rather new to DR printing, but have been kind of holding my own, until today.

I'm using Arista as my developer BTW.

I can't get a good print so far from this paper. I did read on the paperwork that came with it, and it mentioned having a Kodak Yellow Safelight.

But even loading up the paper in pitch black, and a 2 second exposure at f45, it comes out over exposed and/or dark/muddy.

Chemicals were fresh. Just made today.

I stopped until I can figure this out, with some help.

Do I have to have a different type of developer for this paper? The insert within the package also mentioned that developer is also mixed in with the emulsion, if that makes any sense to anyone.

My first test wedge strips came out all black even at 5 second exposures. I did see here on page 2 under light source, http://www.kodak.com/global/en/profe...bs/g27/g27.pdf
    that I need tungsten light source, which all I have right now is just a household light bulb. Even my white border around the print is greyish.

Think I just found my answer.

http://www.apug.org/forums/forum37/8...ure-ii-rc.html

Any thoughts?

TIA
    Last edited by Pfiltz; 12-16-2012 at 06:13 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    That linked to APUG thread has most of the answer you need - it is for printing from colour negatives, and essentially should be used only in total darkness. The appropriate safelight is incredibly dim.