Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,911   Posts: 1,556,237   Online: 966

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

"Fine Art" style of exposure

I'm completely new to B&W film. I would like to get into the "fine art" style; dramatic contrast: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8168360891_5e2cb19dd4.jpg 
Views:	289 
Size:	114.2 KB 
ID:	61830

I realize lighting is the biggest factor, but I also am not trying for a technically perfect exposure, meaning I don't want as much tonal detail as possible because that leads to a flatter image (from what I can tell).

I have some Pan F+ and some Acros 100. Do I need to push it in order to get this look?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Lighting is always big, yes.

You don't have to push, extra development can help but isn't required.

Much of the contrast you see in your example can be added when printing (paper grade) or it can be inherent in the film/process combo you choose. Pan F regularly produces contrasty results but that can be manipulated.

Also technically perfect exposure is simply the exposure that gets you the result you want, nothing more, nothing less. It is the exposure that makes your printing easier.
    Mark Barendt, Beaverton, OR

"We do not see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Anaïs Nin

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Your negative needs to get most of the informations in highlights and shadows.
    But it's just a matrix. Everything happens in the darkroom making the print.
    "Fine Art" is the print.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    So if this look achieved in the printing process, does that mean that this photo was printed then scanned, as opposed to scanning the negative to digitize it?